Jayson Stark headed to Cooperstown, to be honored by PSWA

January 4, 2019|

The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association (PSWA) will honor the newest member of the Baseball Hall of Fame (HoF), longtime baseball writer Jayson Stark, on his selection as 2019 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Stark will receive a Special Achievement award from his peers during PSWA’s annual awards dinner — open to the public — on Monday, Jan. 21 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill visit here for tickets

Stark is best known locally for his 21 years as Phillies beat writer and national baseball columnist for the Philadelphia Inquirer, as well as his 17 years as senior baseball writer for ESPN.com. His nationally-syndicated and popular “Baseball Week in Review” column was a unique and innovative spin on the baseball notes column dealing with the unusual, humorous and wacky side of the national pastime. That tradition continues today as senior baseball writer for The Athletic, where he writes about both the quirky and traditional sides of the game. He also appears regularly on MLB Network. 

Stark has authored three books, including “Worth the Wait: Tales of the 2008 Phillies.” He began his career as the Red Sox beat writer for the Providence Journal before returning to his hometown to cover the Phillies, including their first World Series championship in 1980. He’s been named Pennsylvania Sportswriter of the Year twice and owns an Emmy Award for ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight.” His formal HoF induction will be in July. 

Stark will share the dais at PSWA’s 115th Awards Dinner – the longest running event of its kind in the nation – with Phillies pitcher Aaron Nola, Outstanding Pro Athlete; Joey Wendle of the Tampa Bay Rays, Native Son; former Eagle Mike Quick, Living Legend); former Flyer Brian Propp, and Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy, special achievements; Flyers/Phillies announcer Jim Jackson, Bill Campbell Broadcasters Award; Hall of Fame football writer Ray Didinger, Stan Hochman Writers Award.

Other honorees include Villanova graduate and current Dallas Mavericks star Jalen Brunson (not able to attend due to his NBA schedule), Outstanding Amateur Athlete; college football hall of famer and former Temple great Paul Palmer, and Phillies’ longtime director of travel and clubhouse services Frank Coppenbarger. The Eagles and Villanova basketball teams are the Pro and College Teams of the Year. An evening’s highlight will be the presentation of the Most Courageous Athlete, kept secret until it is presented. The internationally-acclaimed award traditionally goes to an athlete who has returned to his or her sport after experiencing a severe injury or other setback and returning to the sport. 

Eastern High School’s number-one-ranked high school field hockey team in the nation will be receiving special recognition. Eastern finished its season 27-0, which means the Vikings’ graduating seniors have a career record of 106-2-1, including, four state championships and the 2018 New Jersey Tournament of Champions title. Coach Danyle Heilig and the seniors will accept the special achievement award on behalf of the entire team. Michael Zingrone of Hammonton, sports editor of the Temple News, is this year’s PSWA-Richie Ashburn scholarship recipient. 

The PSWA is the oldest organization of its kind in the nation. For tickets and more information, click here.

Share this Post: