Each year, awards are presented in the following categories: Pro Athlete of the Year (formerly Outstanding Pro Athlete), Outstanding Amateur Athlete, Team of the Year, Outstanding Penn Relays collegiate performer (Frank Dolson/Penn Relays Award), Living Legend, Native Son, Humanitarian, Good Guy Athlete and Most Courageous Athlete.

In some years, awards are given in other categories: Executive of the Year, Nostalgia Team, Lifetime Achievement, Special Achievement and Special Recognition.

2020 Honorees

Click here for information regarding 2020 nominees.

Past Honorees

Our illustrious list of nominees since 1905 includes, but is not limited too…



    • Babe Ruth, Jim Thome, Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Sandy Koufax, Mike Schmidt, Mike Trout, Roy Halladay, Brad Lidge, Connie Mack, Grover Cleveland Alexander, Ryan Howard, Jimmy Rollins, Steve Carlton, Robin Roberts, Tom Seaver, Tommy John, Ozzie Smith, Mike Piazza, Roy Campanella, Tug McGraw, Richie Ashburn, Tommy Lasorda, Shane Victorino, Rube Waddell, Mickey Cochrane, Tris Speaker, Lefty Grove, Dizzy Dean, Jim Piersall and Jim Abbott, Walter Johnson, Kenesaw Mountain Landis, Happy Chandler, Mickey Vernon, Chuck Klein, Ford Frick, Branch Rickey, Jimmie Foxx and Ty Cobb.


    • Brian Dawkins, LeSean McCoy, Chuck Bednarik, Ron Jaworski, Johnny Unitas, Norm Van Brocklin, Matt Ryan, Jon Runyan, Tyler Matakevich, Bill Bergey, Mark Herzlich, Keenan Reynolds, Tommy McDonald, Steve Van Buren, John Heisman, Rocky Bleier, Greasy Neale, Sid Gillman, Buck Shaw, Sheldon Brown, John Cappelletti, Jimmy Brown, Knute Rockne, Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, Bert Bell, Herschel Walker and Otto Graham.


    • Allen Iverson, Wilt Chamberlain, Bill Russell, Julius Erving, Charles Barkley, Kobe Bryant, Moses Malone, Billy Cunningham, Bill Walton, Paul Arizin, Red Auerbach, Sonny Hill, Lou Carnesecca, Chuck Daly, Hal Greer, Harry Litwack, Jack Ramsay and Dolph Schayes.


    • Ed Snider, Bernie Parent, Eric Lindros, Claude Giroux, Jake Voracek, Jeremy Roenick, Keith Primeau, Bobby Clarke, Ron Hextall,Bill Barber, Gordie Howe, Danny Briere, Kimmo Timonen, Simon Gagne, John LeClair, Bobby Hull, Bobby Orr and Mark Howe.


    • Jim Thorpe, Mark Spitz, Jesse Owens, Marty Liquori, ‘Babe’ Didrikson Zaharias and Carl Lewis.


    • Jay Wright, Fran Dunphy, Geno Auriemma, Phil Martelli, John Chaney, Herb Magee, Tom Gola, John Giannini, Bo Ryan, Speedy Morris, Larry Brown, Harry Perretta, Cathy Rush, Theresa Shenk Grentz, Andy Reid, Dick Vermeil, Matt Rhule, Andy Talley and Charlie Manuel.


    • Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Larry Holmes, Bernard Hopkins, George Foreman, Joe Louis, Jersey Joe Walcott, Floyd Patterson, Evander Holyfield and Rocky Marciano.


    • Billie Jean King.


    • Carli Lloyd and Sébastien Le Toux.


    • Byron Nelson, Jay Sigel, Terry-Jo Myers and Ben Hogan.

Horse Racing:

Two-time Triple Crown Winning Jockey Eddie Arcaro and Triple Crown Winner Julie Kronse.


  • Howard Cosell, Steve Sabol, Harry Kalas, Richie Ashburn, Merrill Reese, Scott Franzke, Larry Andersen and Bill Campbell.