Philly Sports Writers 115th Awards Dinner features All-Star Cast

January 2, 2019|

Phillies pitcher Aaron Nola, Tampa Bay Rays Joey Wendle, Villanova graduate and Dallas Mavs Jalen Brunson headline the 2019 Philadelphia Sports Writers Association (PSWA) dinner on Monday, Jan. 21 at the Crowne Plaza in Cherry Hill. The public is invited to attend click here for tickets.

Former Eagle Mike Quick, former Flyer Brian Propp, Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy, Flyers/Phillies announcer Jim Jackson, hall of fame football writer Ray Didinger and Eastern High School’s number-one-ranked high school field hockey team in the nation will join the headliners.

Other honorees on the dais include college football hall of famer, former Temple great Paul Palmer, and Phillies’ longtime director of travel and clubhouse services Frank Coppenbarger.

Nola is PSWA’s Outstanding Pro Athlete, Brunson, Outstanding Amateur Athlete, Wendle, Native Son, Quick, Living Legend, and Coppenbarger, Dunphy and Propp Special Achievement Awards for their more than 100 combined years of contributions to Philadelphia sports. The Eagles and Villanova basketball teams are the Pro and College Teams of the Year. An evening’s highlight will be the presentation of the Most Courageous Athlete, kept secret until it is presented. The internationally-acclaimed award traditionally goes to an athlete who has returned to his or her sport after experiencing a severe injury or other setback and returning to the sport.

Jackson and Didinger are being recognized for their work as broadcast and print journalists, respectfully, with Jackson receiving the Bill Campbell Broadcasters Award and Didinger the Stan Hochman Award. Eastern finished its season 27-0, which means the Vikings’ graduating seniors have a career record of 106-2-1, including, four state championships and the 2018 New Jersey Tournament of Champions title. Coach
Danyle Heilig and the seniors will accept the special achievement award on behalf of the entire team. Michael Zingrone of Hammonton, sports editor of the Temple News, is this year’s PSWA-Richie Ashburn scholarship recipient.
PSWA is the oldest organization of its kind in the nation and its awards dinner is the longest running dinner in the country. For tickets and more information, visit here.

Share this Post: