Eastern to be honored by Philadelphia Sports Writers Association

December 27, 2018|

Original Courier Post Story

The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association will honor Eastern High School’s field hockey team at its 115th annual dinner on Jan. 21.

“It’s rare that the PSWA honors high schools,” PSWA president John Weber said. “This, however, is extraordinary and deserves a special recognition. It’s not often that a high school in the Philadelphia region is named ‘Best in the Nation.’”

The Vikings went 27-0 this past season and won the NJSIAA Tournament of Champions. They’ve claimed 20 consecutive South Jersey Group 4 titles.

In the most recent autumn run, coach Danyle Heilig hit the 500-victory milestone.

She will accept the PSWA’s special achievement award on behalf of the team and school.

Eastern is one of the major honorees of the event, held at Cherry Hill’s Crowne Plaza at 5 p.m.

Phillies’ pitcher Aaron Nola, the Philadelphia Eagles and the Villanova men’s basketball team will also accept top awards.

Mike Quick, Ray Didinger, Jim Jackson, Paul Palmer, Fran Dunphy are among other notables to be honored.

The PSWA is the oldest organization of its kind in the nation. Its award dinner is the longest running dinner in the country. For tickets and more information, please visit here.

PHOTO: Joe Lamberti – Courier Post  

Share this Post: