2020 Banquet Update

November 27, 2019|

It’s that time of year again! No, we’re not referring to turkey, stuffing or a jolly man in red giving out gifts – we mean the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association’s annual dinner is fast approaching! The 116th Annual Philadelphia Sports Writers Association Banquet will take place on Monday January 20th, 2020, at the Crowne Plaza Cherry Hill. And the PSWA’s latest announced honoree is two-time NCAA basketball championship coach Jay Wright of the Villanova Wildcats, this year being honored with the association’s Good Guy Award. Wright will travel to Cherry Hill to accept his award at the PSWA’s annual Awards Dinner. Tickets are now available here.

Wright led the Wildcats to a pair of NCAA national championships in 2016 and 2018 and is one of only three active Division I head coaches with multiple national championships. Villanova has excelled under Wright, with 191 wins over the last six seasons alone, averaging 31.8 wins a year. Wright has long been cooperative and supportive of the media that cover the team, regardless of wins and losses. That consistent attitude is why the Nova coach was named the 2020 Good Guy award winner, for his outstanding cooperation with the media.

“We’re very pleased and honored that Jay has accepted and will be part of our 2020 banquet,” says PSWA president Mike DeNardo. “Over the next few weeks, more award-winners will be announced and we want the public to take part in what is sure to be another memorable evening in Philadelphia sports history.”

Also planning to take part is new Phillies manager Joe Girardi, making one of his first public appearances as skipper of the team. The public is encouraged to come out and have dinner with Girardi and the rest of the PSWA honorees.

The Stanley Cup-winning St. Louis Blues have been chosen as Team of the Year, and Blues coach Craig Berube, a former Flyers player and head coach, will be on hand to accept the honor.

The PSWA Awards Dinner is the longest-running event of its kind in the U.S. 2020 marks the 116th annual. For the latest information click here.

Share this Post: