Temple RB Paul Palmer Honored for Hall of Fame Induction

January 12, 2019|

The eighth-year was the charm for Paul Palmer.
After having his name on the College Football Hall of Fame (HoF) ballot for seven years, Palmer finally earned the hall induction in December as a part of the 2018 class. In recognition of that achievement, he is being honored at the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association’s 115th annual Awards Dinner. The public is invited to the PSWA dinner on Monday, Jan. 21 at the Crowne Plaza in Cherry Hill (phillysportswriters.com).
Palmer, 54, became the first former Temple University player to earn enshrinement in the College HoF and fourth Temple representative. The other three — Glenn “Pop” Warner, Ray Morrison, and Wayne Hardin — were Temple coaches.
To be considered for the College Hall, a player must have earned a First-Team All-American honor during his playing career. Palmer accomplished that feat during his senior season in 1986. That year, he rushed for 1,866 yards and 15 touchdowns. Palmer led Division I in rushing yards and all-purpose yards in 1986 enroute to finishing second in the Heisman Trophy voting.
Palmer, drafted 19th overall by the Kansas City Chiefs in the 1987 NFL draft, was the second first-round NFL Draft pick in Temple program history. In 2000, he was inducted into the Temple Athletics Hall of Fame.
Over the years, Palmer has stayed closely involved with the Temple football program. He has worked as a radio in-game sideline reporter from 2001-04 and as color analyst for the Temple Owls Sports Network football broadcasts since 2013.
Palmer joins Phillies pitcher Aaron Nola, Outstanding Pro Player of the Year; Philadelphia Sports Hall of Famer Sonny Hill, Ed Snider Lifetime Humanitarian; former Eagle Mike Quick, Living Legend and Special Achievement recipients former Flyer Brian Propp, Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy and Phillies’ retiring director of travel and clubhouse services Frank Coppenbarger
Also, Flyers/Phillies announcer Jim Jackson, hall of fame writers Ray Didinger (football) and Jason Stark (baseball) and Eastern High School’s number-one-ranked field hockey team in the nation, the Eagles and Villanova basketball teams are the Pro and Amateur Teams of the Year.
An evening’s highlight will be the presentation of the Most Courageous Athlete, kept secret until it is presented. The internationally-acclaimed award traditionally goes to an athlete who has returned to his or her sport after experiencing a severe injury or other setback and returning to the sport.
Special invited guests include Rickie Ricardo, Eagles Hispanic announcer, invited on the strength of his incredible call of the blocked field goal in the Eagles-Bears game, which went viral https://touchdownwire.usatoday.com/2019/01/07/listen-to-rickie-ricardos-sensational-spanish-call-of-cody-parkeys-missed-field-goal/, Temple’s new football coach Rod Carey, and the Flyers’ Gritty and sports comedian Joe Conklin who will entertain.
PSWA is the oldest organization of its kind in the nation and its awards dinner is the longest running sports-related dinner in the country.

By Michael Zingrone – Temple University sports writer/broadcaster and PSWA Ashburn Scholarship recipient

Share this Post: