#1 Field Hockey Team in the USA, 27-0 Eastern HS, to be Honored by PSWA

December 20, 2018|

Eastern High School, the number one high school field hockey team in the nation, is among the honorees at the 115th Philadelphia Sports Writers Association (PSWA) dinner on Monday, Jan. 21 at the Crowne Plaza in Cherry Hill.

Eastern shares its major award with Phillies’ pitcher Aaron Nola, PSWA’s Outstanding Pro Athlete of the Year and the Eagles and Villanova basketball team named Pro and College Teams of the Year.

“It’s rare that the PSWA honors high schools,” says John Weber, president. “This however, is extra ordinary and deserves a special recognition. It’s not often that a high school in the Philadelphia-region is named “Best in the Nation.”

Eastern finished its season 27-0, which means the Vikings’ graduating seniors have a career record of 106-0-1, including 75 consecutive victories, four state championships and three New Jersey Tournament of Champions titles. The team has gone 133 consecutive games without a loss.

Coach Danyle Heilig and the seniors will accept the special achievement award on behalf of the entire team.

Eastern joins former Eagle and radio color analyst Mike Quick, Living Legend; Pro Football Hall of Famer Ray Didinger, Stan Hochman Writers Award; Flyers TV and Phillies radio announcer Jim Jackson,Bill Campbell Award; College Football Hall of Famer and former Temple Owl great Paul Palmer, Special Recognition; Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy, special achievement for his outstanding basketball career; Michael Zingrone, sports editor of the Temple News, Richie Ashburn scholarship recipient; and Phillies’ longtime director of travel and clubhouse services Frank Coppenbarger, special achievement award.

PSWA is the oldest organization of its kind in the nation and its awards dinner is the longest running dinner in the country. For tickets, visit here.

Share this Post: