2017 Houston Astros selected as Team of the Year by PSWA

January 4, 2018|

The Houston Astros didn’t just end a franchise championship drought. They brought together a region that desperately needed good news after the devastating impacts of Hurricane Harvey hit the Gulf Coast region.

And because of that, the Astros will be honored as the Team of the Year by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association at the 114th annual dinner, which will take place on Monday, Jan. 15 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Behind a homegrown core of American League MVP Jose Altuve, outfielder George Springer and second baseman Carlos Correa, Houston lead the American League West pretty much wire-to-wire with 101 regular season wins. A late August trade for former Cy Young winner Justin Verlander added to the top of the rotation next to Dallas Keuchel.

Hurricane Harvey hit the Houston area on August 19, but stayed stationary over the east Texas region for over a week. It dropped over 30 inches of rain in Houston with areas upwards of 60 inches in isolated spots. Large areas were flooded with $198 billion of damage taking place as a result of the storm with several homes destroyed.

As a team, the Astros united behind the “Houston Strong” motto and made a post-season run, knocking off the Boston Red Sox in the AL Division Series in four games, the New York Yankees in a seven-game American League championship series and the Los Angeles Dodgers in an epic seven-game World Series to claim the organization’s first world championship since coming into existence in 1962.

The Astros join Kyle Lowry (Native Son award winner), Sixers guard T.J. McConnell (Good Guy), Sixers broadcaster Marc Zumoff of NBC Sports Philadelphia (Bill Campbell award), Eagles great/Soul owner Ron Jaworski (special achievement) and legendary South Jersey baseball coach Joseph Hartmann (Ed Snider Humanitarian Award) at this year’s dinner. Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz was recently named the Pro Athlete of the Year. Longtime Philadelphia Daly News columnist Rich Hofmann will also be present as the Stan Hochman award winner. Phillies slugger Rhys Hoskins and manager Gabe Kapler are also scheduled to be in attendance. Other award winners will be announced soon, including the Living Legend. The PSWA’s signature event, the Most Courageous Athlete, will be announced at the conclusion of the dinner.

The public is encouraged to attend – click here for tickets – just $95! For more information email pswadinner@yahoo.com

Share this Post: