Carson Wentz Leads List of Award Winners For Philadelphia Sports Writers Banquet

December 29, 2017|

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. (December 29, 2017) – The Philadelphia Sports Writers Association Banquet, the oldest sports banquet in America, has another banner list of award winners scheduled for the 114th annual event on Monday, January 15 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill, New Jersey.

Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz will receive the Professional Athlete of the Year Award and heads an outstanding list of dais award winners and honorees. Wentz’ appearance at the banquet is hopeful, but still depends on his rehab schedule.

Another quarterback who was Professional Athlete of the Year in the past, Ron Jaworski, will definitely be in attendance. He will represent the Arena Football League champion Philadelphia Soul. The colorful and energetic Jaworski has been a highlighted speaker at a number of PSWA banquets.

Baseball will get plenty of attention, as new Phillies manager Gabe Kapler will make his first appearance at the Sports Writers banquet. He will be joined by rookie sensation Rhys Hoskins, who will receive a Special Achievement Award for his record-setting home run production in his debut as a Phillie.

In a look to the past, former Phillies centerfielder Garry Maddox will receive the Living Legend Award.

Remembering athletes with local roots has always been a keystone of the PSWA banquet, and this year is no exception. Cardinal Dougherty High School and Villanova University product Kyle Lowry will be on hand to receive the Native Son Award. Lowry is an all-star guard for the Toronto Raptors and will arrive at the evening event fresh from a Martin Luther King Day contest against the 76ers in the afternoon.

Facing Lowry that day, and accompanying him at night, will be 76er guard T.J. McConnell, recipient of the Good Guy Award for cooperation with the media. McConnell is a fan favorite, after beating the odds as an undrafted player and becoming a valuable asset to the 76ers.

Making it an NBA trifecta, 76er broadcaster Marc Zumoff will receive the Bill Campbell Award for excellence in sports journalism.

The PSWA’s signature event, the Most Courageous Athlete, will be announced at the conclusion of the dinner.

As has been the case for a number of years, sports comedian Joe Conklin will provide comedic relief at the banquet.  His imitations of many sports personalities are an annual highlight of the evening.

The public is encouraged to attend. More information on the banquet and tickets ($95) are available by visiting For more information email or call 610-279-9220.




Share this Post: