PSWA Webmaster/ December 22, 2016/ 2017 Banquet

Longtime Saint Joseph’s head coach Phil Martelli will join an outstanding list of honorees for dinner when he accepts the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association’s Good Guy Award at the 113th annual PSWA banquet Friday, Feb. 3 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill.

The banquet is open to the public and tickets are available here or by calling 267-546-7277.

Martelli, always helpful and accessible to the media in good times and bad, capped off a strong 2015-16 season by storming through the Atlantic 10 Tournament, defeating George Washington, Dayton and Virginia Commonwealth and earning an eighth seed in the NCAA Tournament.
The Hawks then defeated No. 9 Cincinnati for their first NCAA Tournament win since 2004 before bowing to Oregon in the second round, finishing at a stellar 28-8. The conference title was the second in the last three years for Martelli, who is also a four-time A-10 Coach of the Year.

Martelli will join colleague Jay Wright on the star-studded PSWA dais. Wright, the Villanova coach, will also be in Cherry Hill to accept Team of the Year honors for his NCAA Champion Wildcats. Another outstanding basketball team, the 1966-67 Philadelphia 76ers, will receive a special achievement award on the 50th anniversary of their title.
Another 50th anniversary will be celebrated when several Flyers captains from their history will be saluted. One of those captains, Eric Lindros, will accept the Living Legend award. Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere, who set several rookie records in 2015-16, will be on hand as the association’s Philadelphia Pro Athlete of the Year.
Bill Barber is among the Flyers captains who will be saluted, and he will sign autographs after the event.
Scott Franzke and Larry Andersen, the radio voices of the Phillies, will receive the Bill Campbell Broadcast Award for their outstanding work.
There are still more honorees to be announced as the big night gets closer.