PSWA Webmaster/ January 30, 2017/ 2017 Banquet

Villanova men’s basketball coach Jay Wright and two of his standouts, Kris Jenkins and Josh Hart, will accept the Team of the Year award at the 113th annual Philadelphia Sports Writers Association’s banquet Friday, Feb. 3 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill.

The doors open at 5 p.m., and the dinner starts at 6:30 p.m.

Jenkins’ buzzer-beating, three-point shot gave Villanova an epic 77-74 win over North Carolina in last year’s NCAA championship game. This season, Hart leads the Wildcats in scoring (18.7 points per game) and rebounds (6.5). Jenkins is one of four Wildcats averaging in double figures (13.5 points per game) and is hitting 40 percent of his three-point shots. Top-ranked Villanova is currently 20-2.

Tickets are available here, or by calling 267-546-7277.

Former Flyers great Eric Lindros, who went into Hockey’s Hall of Fame in November, is one of the numerous other honorees. He will receive the Living Legend award.

The Flyers, who are celebrating their 50th anniversary, will have a strong presence. Shayne Gostisbehere, who had a brilliant rookie season, will receive the Philadelphia Pro Athlete of the year honor, and several Flyers captains will be saluted, including Hall of Famer Bill Barber, Lou Angotti, and Dave Poulin. Angotti, the first captain in Flyers history, Barber and the Eagles’ Marcus Smith will sign free autographs after the event.

The Flyers Wives will Fight for Lives organization will receive the Ed Snider Lifetime Humanitarian award. Lindy Snider, the daughter of the late Flyers owner, will present the award

Paul Holmgren, the Flyers’ president, will speak and commemorate the Flyers’ 50th anniversary.

Oliver Chamberlain will accept a special achievement award on behalf of the 76ers and his late uncle, Wilt Chamberlain, who led the team to a 68-13 record and the NBA title 50 years ago.

Other award winners include Saint Joseph’s men’s basketball coach Phil Martelli (Good Guy award); WBA super featherweight Jason Sosa (Native Son award), a South Jersey native who attended Sterling High; Scott Franzke and Larry Andersen, the radio voices of the Phillies, who will accept the Bill Campbell Broadcast award; and The Inquirer’s Jeff McLane, who will be honored with the Stan Hochman award for the year’s best story.

Claire Smith, a former Inquirer columnist who was the first African American female newspaper reporter to cover Major League Baseball on a daily basis, will receive a special achievement award. She won the J.G. Taylor Spink award and will be honored at Hall of Fame weekend in Cooperstown in July.

Joe Conklin will present his unique sports comedy, and the PSWA’s signature event will be the naming of the Most Courageous winner.