PSWA Webmaster/ January 5, 2017/ 2017 Banquet

The Philadelphia Inquirer’s Jeff McLane is the winner of the second annual Stan Hochman Award, which will be presented at the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association’s 113th annual dinner Feb. 3 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill.

A veteran Eagles reporter, McLane’s Sept. 7 piece on quarterback Carson Wentz was voted the best story of the year by the PSWA.

Tickets are available here, or by calling 267-546-7277.

Phillies announcers Scott Franzke and Larry Andersen are the winners of the second annual Bill Campbell Award, given for broadcasting excellence.

Flyers Hall of Famer Eric Lindros, Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostsibehere, Villanova men’s basketball coach Jay Wright and his NCAA championship team, the 76ers’ powerhouse 1966-67 team, and Saint Joseph’s coach Phil Martelli are among the many honorees.

Bill Barber, a Hall of Famer left winger with the Flyers, will sign free autographs after the event.

Hochman, known for his distinctive writing style and his incomparable interview ability, was an award-winning columnist for the Daily News for 55 years before his death in 2015. The Inquirer’s Mike Sielski was the winner of the inaugural Hochman Award last year.