PSWA Webmaster/ January 6, 2017/ 2017 Banquet

For former Flyers center Eric Lindros, the honors keep coming.

Lindros, who was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame last month, has been named the winner of the Living Legend Award by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association.
He will be among many honorees at the association’s 113th annual banquet on Friday, Feb. 3 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill. Tickets are available here.

“It’s a great honor to win this award,” Lindros said.

Some of the previous winners include the Eagles’ Chuck Bednarik, Tommy McDonald, Bill Bergey, Pete Retzlaff, Tom Brookshier, and Steve Van Buren; the Phillies’ Larry Bowa, Dick Allen, Pete Rose, Tug McGraw, Rich Ashburn, and Robin Roberts; the Flyers’ Bob Clarke, Bernie Parent, and Bill Barber; the 76ers’ Wilt Chamberlain, Billy Cunningham, and (coach) Jack Ramsay; and boxers Joe Frazier and Larry Holmes.

The 6-foot-4, 240-pound Lindros revolutionized the power-forward position because of a rare combination: speed and hockey skills not seen in a player that size.
Lindros won the Hart Trophy as the league’s MVP in 1994-95 and finished in the top 10 five times during a 13-year career that was cut short because of concussions.
When he did play, he was dominating: 865 points and 372 goals in 760 games. His points-per-game average (1.14) ranks 19th in NHL history.

“I was very fortunate to have coaches, teammates, billets and parents who supported me throughout my career,” Lindros said.

Lindros, 43, played with the Flyers from 1993 to 2000 and ranks fifth on their all-time scoring list with 659 points in 456 games. During the Flyers portion of his career, he averaged 1.36 points per game, by far the most in franchise history.
During his most dominating decade, only Mario Lemieux (1.99) and Jaromir Jagr (1.42) averaged more points per game than Lindros (1.31).

In addition to Lindros, there will be numerous other honorees, including Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere, who set several rookie records in 2015-16 and is the association’s Pro Athlete of the Year.

Villanova, which won the NCAA men’s basketball championship, will be honored as the Team of the Year; Scott Franzke and Larry Andersen, the radio voices of the Phillies, will receive the Bill Campbell Broadcast Award for their outstanding work; and several Flyers captains from their history will be saluted, celebrating the franchise’s 50th anniversary.

Many more honorees will be revealed in the coming weeks.